Iperius is a very flexible backup software and comes with many advanced features to optimize backup efficiency. One of these features is the Synchronization, therefore the chance to delete from the backup those files no more existing in the source items. In this way you can save disk space and keep perfect mirror copies of your important folders.

Synchronization is available in two different backup types: backup to local mass storage devices (external USB drives, RDX, NAS, etc.), also using zip compression, and FTP backup (upload). Enabling it is very simple, since you just need to check the dedicated option in the destination, as shown in the picture below:

Iperius allows to synchronize folders and files in a very simple way. You can configure unlimited backup jobs to make multiple synchronizations at the same time (parallel execution).

Please remember that synchronization should be used carefully, since it is an operation that permanently delete files from backup folders. You must be sure of what you are doing, and it is generally recommended to keep at least another backup copy where synchronization is not used.

 

(Italian, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese (Brazil))



Synchronization: how to delete old files from the backup
Iperius Backup Team
*****************************************

PLEASE NOTE: if you need technical support or have any sales or technical question, don't use comments. Instead open a TICKET here: https://support.iperius.net

*****************************************

Comments

  1. Wolfgang

    Restoring Files or how to Synchronize properly?
    As it looks like the synchronisation option only applies to FULL backups. So if I create a chain of 14 daily incremental (or differential) backups it will take me 14 days before obsolete files will be removed from the full backup. If I now would like to restore files to get the state of the backuped files from seven days ago, I am kind of lost… because all files deleted in this seven days timeframe were not delete from the full backup.
    Am I getting something wrong or ist that simply the way it is.
    Thank you and regards
    Wolfgang

  2. Jim Lund

    I would like to keep both a local copy of the backups on a NAS in the building and then move the changes to the cloud.

    What is best method to do this.

    What is best method to rotate out the outdated cloud backup files.

    Thanks

  3. Jordan

    I am using the free version of Iperius Backup. I have it set to do a Full backup followed by 6 differentials. Synchronization is not checked plus I read that it was disabled in the free version. However, the latest differential backup showed 13 objects deleted followed by “Files deleted by synchronization:” and a list of those files (all .dat files).

    Can you explain why?

    Thanks.

    1. Iperius Backup Team Article Author

      Hi, files are deleted (in a similar way it occurs when you check the synchronization option) because when Iperius creates a differential or incremental backup, and the folder already exists, it clear it, since previous incremental or differential backups must be replaced by new ones entirely, to make them related to the previous/full backup.

    1. Iperius Team

      Hi,
      there isn’t an option to delete the old backup in Iperius Backup but with the Synchronization option, you can overwrite the old backup in place of deleting them.
      For any other question, please write to support@iperius.net

  4. Rida

    Hi,

    i need to backup , a folder , the files inside this folders are temprarly residant , which mean my system remove those files within few seconds, i want to copy them before system delete them, the point how to make online hot backup (differential), the timer interval in Minutes!! i need to run the task every 2 seconds (online/monitoring),

    also how to ensure if i have duplication to keep all copies

    regards

    1. Iperius Team

      Hi,

      You can choose in the Destination panel inside the Job the backup type “Keep a full backup and a number of differential copies” selecting the Number of copies, have a look at this tutorial: https://www.iperiusbackup.net/en/backup-types-with-iperius-full-incremental-differential/.
      More you can configure in the Scheduling panel the Execution time “Each” 2 minutes or the delay time you need.

      For further technical question open a ticket on https://support.iperius.net

  5. Robert Parker

    I’d like to use the Synchronization option to match the deletion from the source, however before the file is deleted from the backup I’d like it copied to a “deleted” backup directory, with similar storage path as it’s original location. My thought is, if the source has files which were deleted, then they are deleted from the backup, I can always turn to my deleted folder, and find anything that no longer exists. This would get my source closer to what is on the server with the added protection of never losing my deleted file.

    Is this currently possible to configure?

  6. Jonathan Schulteis

    Hello,

    About this option, I am using the free version and that option is grayed out. So what happens is eventually the entire backup drive gets filled up. Are there any options in the free version to prevent this or is the answer to upgrade to a paid version? Any help on this is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

*****************************************

PLEASE NOTE: if you need technical support or have any sales or technical question, don't use comments. Instead open a TICKET here: https://support.iperius.net

*****************************************